Eye tracking: Gaze data provides valuable information

Eye tracking measures where a person is looking on the computer screen. Eye movements consist of fixations and saccades. Fixations are the phases in which the human eye rests on one point. During the fixations, most of the visual information is recorded. This makes them particularly important for eye tracking analysis. Saccades are the movements of the eye between the individual fixations in which the eye is aligned to a new point. Fixations are visualized as circles, whereby the diameter of the circle describes the length of a fixation. Saccades are represented as connecting lines between the fixations:

Logo EYEVIDO

With the aid of eye tracking anlysis you can identify what customers perceive on the screen and how they interact with the content. Amongst other things, you will find out in what order which contents are being viewed and how intensively. This information allows you to optimize your designs towards specific targets. Based on your collected eye tracking data, you can channel the attention of viewers, communicate information more efficiently and improve the usability of your product. Therefore, turning visitors into customers and new customers into returning customers.

Examine various contents on the screen:

  • Pictures such as advertisements, billboards or mockups
  • PDFs such as brochures or product information
  • Videos such as advertising videos or video trainings from the e-learning area
  • Web content such as company homepages or cloud software
  • Native apps on Android and iOS

Eye tracker for recording the data

Each eye tracking data is recorded with the help of eye trackers. This special hardware is attached under the screen and focuses on the position as well as the viewing direction from the eyes of the person in front of the computer screen. Using infrared light, eye trackers capture data with extreme accuracy. In fact, the average deviation is only about 0.5 cm. Data collection with infrared technology is so reliable, that even people with glasses or contact lenses can participate in analyses without any problems.

Person in front of the eye tracker

In the EYEVIDO system, we use the latest generation of eye tracking systems for data recording. We currently work with two models from different manufacturers.

What is Cloud Eye Tracking?

Eye tracking analyses are used to optimize visual products such as advertisements, websites or films. Our new approach of conducting web-based eye tracking studies in the cloud is known as Cloud Eye Tracking. We provide the appropriate software and infrastructure. The core of the approach is to store all data centrally on a Server and to access it via the Internet.
Eye tracking studies can be accessed via the EYEVIDO portal via web browser. In the portal, you develop the course of your studies and evaluate the recorded data.

The data recording takes place on Eye tracking Clients. They are equipped with an eye tracker and require Internet access. The EYEVIDO test person software is installed on the client. It guides volunteers autonomously through eye tracking studies and transfers the recorded data to the server.

The procedure of a typical cloud eye tracking study looks like the following:

1.
A new eye tracking study is created in the web interface.

2.
After completion the study is started and the data collection begins.

3.
Participants take part in the study on computers equipped with an eye tracker. This can take place in a lab, in a branch or at the participants' home. In the same office, town, country, or spread worldwide.

Architecture of the EYEVIDO eye tracking software

4.
The recorded data ins transferred on our server via internet connection.

5.
At any given time, intermediate results can be viewed in the EYEVIDO portal.

6.
Visualization and evaluation of the data in the web browser. Export and save results your results, as well as generate a study report.

Advantages compared to conventional methods

Previously, eye tracking studies could only be carried out with desktop software. In comparison, cloud eye tracking offers a number of advantages:

  • study creation and evaluation take place in the browser, independent of the operating system. No software needs to be installed.
  • Collaborative work is simplified: several experts can work on the same study.
  • Data collection takes place regardless of location. Special target groups can also be reached in this way.
  • data are recorded in parallel, so several product testers can participate in studies at the same time.

Let's get started!

Do you have any questions?

Get in touch with us

Eyetracking: Blickdaten liefern wertvolle Informationen

Mit Eyetracking wird gemessen, wohin eine Person auf dem Computerbildschirm schaut. Blickverläufe setzen sich zusammen aus Fixationen und Sakkaden. Fixationen sind die Phasen, in denen das Auge des Menschen auf einem Punkt ruht. Während der Fixationen wird der größte Teil der visuellen Informationen aufgenommen. Das macht sie von besonderer Bedeutung bei der Eyetracking-Analyse. Sakkaden bezeichnen die Bewegungen des Auges zwischen den einzelnen Fixationen, in denen das Auge auf einen neuen Punkt ausgerichtet wird. Visualisiert werden Fixationen als Kreise, wobei der Durchmesser des Kreises die Länge einer Fixation beschreibt. Sakkaden werden als verbindende Linien zwischen den Fixationen dargestellt:

Logo EYEVIDO

Mit Hilfe von Eyetracking-Analysen können Sie herausfinden, was Kunden am Bildschirm wahrnehmen und wie sie mit den Inhalten interagieren. Sie erfahren so unter anderem, welche Inhalte wie intensiv und in welcher Reihenfolge betrachtet werden. Diese Informationen können Sie zielgerichtet nutzen um die Gestaltung zu optimieren. Sie können auf Basis der Eyetracking-Daten die Aufmerksamkeit von Betrachtern kanalisieren, Informationen effizienter vermitteln und die Usability Ihres Produktes verbessern. Auf diese Weise machen Sie Besucher zu Kunden und Neukunden zu wiederkehrenden Bestandskunden.

Untersuchen Sie unterschiedlichste Inhalte am Bildschirm:

  • Bilder wie Werbeanzeigen, Plakatwände oder Mockups
  • PDFs wie Broschüren oder Produktinformationen
  • Videos wie Werbevideos oder Video-Trainings aus E-Learning-Bereich
  • Webinhalte wie Firmenhomepages oder Cloudsoftware
  • Native Apps auf Android und iOS

Eyetracker zur Aufzeichung der Daten

Eyetracking-Daten werden mit Hilfe von Eyetrackern aufgezeichnet. Diese Spezialhardware wird unter dem Bildschirm befestigt. Eyetracker nutzen Infrarotlicht um die Augenposition und die Blickrichtung der Person vor dem Computerbildschirm zu identifizieren. Die gelieferten Daten weisen dabei eine hohe Genauigkeit auf. Im Durchschnitt beträgt die Abweichung etwa 0,5 cm. Die Infrarot-Technologie macht die Datenerhebung sehr robust. Das bedeutet, dass auch Personen mit Brille oder Kontaktlinsen ohne Problemen an Analysen teilnehmen können.

Person vor dem Eyetracker

Für die Datenaufzeichnung setzen wir im EYEVIDO-System die neueste Generation von Eyetrackern ein. Zurzeit arbeiten wir mit zwei Modellen verschiedener Hersteller.

Was ist Cloud Eyetracking?

Mit Hilfe von Eyetracking-Analysen werden visuelle Produkte wie Werbeanzeigen, Webseiten oder Filme optimiert. Als Cloud-Eyetracking bezeichnen wir unseren neuartigen Ansatz, Eyetracking-Studien webbasiert in der Cloud durchführen zu können. Dafür stellen wir die entsprechende Software und Infrastruktur bereit. Der Kern des Ansatzes ist es, sämtliche Daten zentral auf einem Server zu speichern und über das Internet darauf zuzugreifen.
Über das EYEVIDO Portal kann per Webbrowser auf Eyetracking-Studien zugegriffen werden. Im Portal entwickeln Sie den Ablauf Ihrer Studien und werten die aufgezeichneten Daten aus.

Die Datenaufzeichnung findet auf Eyetracking-Clients statt. Dafür werden Geräte mit einem Eyetracker ausgestattet und benötigen lediglich einen Internetzugang. Die EYEVIDO Probandensoftware wird auf dem Client installiert und leitet die Probanden autonom durch Eyetracking-Studien. Die aufgezeichneten Daten werden dabei auf den Server übertragen.

Hier der typische Ablauf einer Cloud-Eyetracking-Studie:

1.
Eine neue Eyetracking-Studie wird im Webbrowser angelegt.

2.
Die Studie wird nach Fertigstellung gestartet und die Datenerhebung kann beginnen.

3.
Probanden nehmen, ausgestattet mit Eyetrackern, an der Studie teil. Dies kann in einem Labor, in einer Filiale, beim Probanden zu Hause, an einem Ort oder weltweit verteilt, stattfinden.

Architektur der EYEVIDO Eyetracking Software

4.
Die aufgezeichneten Daten werden via Internet auf unseren Server übertragen.

5.
Zwischenergebnisse können jederzeit im Portal betrachtet werden.

6.
Die Daten können im Webbrowser visualisiert und analysiert werden. Exportieren und speichern von Ergebnissen sowie die Generierung eines Berichts sind ebenfalls möglich.

Vorteile im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Verfahren

Bisher konnten Eyetracking-Studien nur mit Desktop-Software durchgeführt werden. Im Vergleich dazu bietet Cloud-Eyetracking eine Reihe an Vorteilen:

  • Studienerstellung und -auswertung finden betriebssystem-unabhängig im Browser statt. Es muss keine Software installiert werden.
  • Kollaborative Arbeit wird vereinfacht: mehrere Experten können an der gleichen Studie arbeiten.
  • Die Datenerhebung findet ortsunabhängig statt. Auch spezielle Zielgruppen können so erreicht werden.
  • Daten werden parallel aufgezeichnet, es können also mehrere Probanden gleichzeitig an Studien teilnehmen.

Legen Sie los!

Haben Sie Fragen?

Kontaktieren Sie uns